Collegium Carolinum provides an award to recognize outstanding academic essays. The Institute awards a prize every two years for an essay in the fields of historical, literary or cultural studies published by a journal or anthology dealing with the history and culture of East Central Europe, with a focus on the history and culture of the Czech Republic and/or Slovakia or their predecessor states.


All essays that have been published within the two years previous to the prize award are eligible for the prize. Neither the place of work of the authors nor their academic degree have any relevance to the award of the essay prize. Membership of Collegium Carolinum is neither a precondition for nor a criterion for exclusion from the award. The Board of Directors of Collegium Carolinum decides during the month of May of every odd-number year on award of the essay prize.

Prize money and award guidelines

Collegium Carolinum’s essay prize is endowed with €1,000
Wherever practicable, Collegium Carolinum will invite the award winner to Munich for a research stay of up to two weeks. Travel expenses will wherever possible be borne by Collegium Carolinum, while accommodation costs should be covered by the prize money.
During their stay in Munich, each award winner will give a public lecture dealing with a topic of relevance to the award-winning essay. Collegium Carolinum will organize this event, ensuring that it receives the appropriate publicity.

Nominations and invitation to submit a nomination

An invitation to submit nominations for the Essay Prize is published every second winter. Nominations may be submitted to the management of Collegium Carolinum by 15 February of every odd-number year. The Board of Management of Collegium Carolinum then decides on the winner by the following May.
No nominations on one’s own behalf are permitted. All researchers who have completed a doctorate are entitled to submit nominations. Publishers of journals and collected volumes may nominate a maximum of two essays for each individual journal or collected volume.
In addition to an electronic copy of the relevant essay, nominations should include a short explanation (max. half a page) of the nomination.

Please contact Collegium Carolinum management if you have any questions on the Essay Prize.

Past winners of the Essay Prize

2021: Miloslav Szabó